Board of Directors

Our Board is structured to provide for the participation of all stakeholders while remaining independent from the telecommunications and television industry.

It consists of seven directors who are elected for three-year terms:

  • four Independent Directors, two of whom are nominees of consumer groups
  • three Industry Directors, one each to represent the Incumbent Local Exchange Carriers (ILECs), the Cable Companies, and the Other Participating Service Providers

Independent Directors

The Independent Directors are intended to represent a diversity of experience and interests, being individuals known and respected on a regional and national basis and representative of the Canadian population, including gender, linguistic, minority and geographic representation.

Photo of Catherine Aczel Boivie (Board Chair, appointed October 2016)

Catherine Aczel Boivie (Board Chair, appointed October 2016)

A senior executive and CEO, Catherine has led the advancement of the strategic value of information technology as a business enabler at Vancity Credit Union, Pacific Blue Cross and CAA British Columbia. She serves on several boards, including those of BC Real Estate Association (BCREA), Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI), MedicAlert Canada and Artsclub theatre. She holds a BMath degree from University of Waterloo and an MEd and PhD from University of Toronto. Dr. Boivie has been publicly recognized for her contributions, including being named as one of Canada’s top 100 most powerful women by the Women’s Executive Network in the “Trailblazers and Trendsetters” category. She is the recipient of the Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee medal for being a “catalyst for technology transformation.”

Photo of Darlene Halwas

Darlene Halwas

Darlene currently serves on the boards of Canada Development Investment Corporation, CMC Research Institutes and the Alberta WaterPortal Society. She has almost 30 years of work experience, with 15 years focused on leading risk management functions for companies. In the past, she has served on a number of boards, including the Safety Codes Council, Aquatera Utilities Inc., the Management Employees Pension Board and the Calgary Police Commission. She holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Hons.) from the University of Manitoba and the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA), Financial Risk Manager (FRM) and Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD.D) designations as well as certification in tribunal administrative justice. Since 1995, she has been an active volunteer with the CFA Institute, and she recently completed her term on the global Disciplinary Review Committee. She was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for her contributions to Canada. She is a member of the Diversity 50 and was awarded an Exemplar from the Director and Chief Risk Officers Group in 2019.

Consumer Group Appointees

Photo of Marina Pavlović

Marina Pavlović

Marina is an Associate Professor at the University of Ottawa’s Faculty of Law, Common Law Section, where she is a member of the Center for Law, Technology, and Society. Marina has research and teaching experience in consumer protection, telecommunications, law and technology policy, and dispute resolution. She holds a law degree from the University of Belgrade (Serbia), an LLM in Law & Technology from the University of Ottawa, and she is called to the Ontario bar.

Photo of Jacques C. P. Bellemare

Jacques C. P. Bellemare

Jacques graduated in Engineering Physics at École Polytechnique in Montreal (1961) and later obtained an MBA from Laval University in Quebec (1973). In the private sector, he has worked in telephony with Bell Canada, in Cable TV with Cablevision Nationale (acquired by Videotron), in consulting with Raymond, Chabot, Martin, Paré, and in regulation with Teleglobe Canada after its privatization. Since 1994, with his own firm STEM Consultants Inc., he offers independent expertise in economic regulation of public utility companies, mostly in the energy sector. In the public sector, from 1982 to 1988, Jacques served as a Member of the Quebec Public Service Board then assuming regulatory jurisdiction over certain telephone companies located in Quebec, including Quebec-Telephone and Telebec.

Industry Directors

The Industry Directors represent each of the ILEC, Cableco and Other Participating Service Provider categories.

Incumbent Local Exchange Carriers (ILECs)

Ruby Barber

Ruby is Assistant General Counsel, Legal & Regulatory Affairs, at Bell Canada and is based in Ottawa. She joined Bell in 1997 and has a broad range of legal and regulatory experience with telecom issues. Most recently she was responsible for Bell Canada’s consumer legal team, which on a day-to-day basis addresses legal issues impacting Bell’s customers, including the Wireless Code of Conduct. Previously, she supported the Mergers & Acquisitions team at Bell as Assistant General Counsel, M&A. Prior to joining Bell, Ruby was an associate at Fasken Martineau in Toronto, practising corporate and securities law. She is a graduate of Queen’s University (Honours Politics) and Osgoode Hall Law School and was called to the Bar in Ontario in 1991.

Cable Companies

Photo of Dean Shaikh

Dean Shaikh

Dean is Vice President, Regulatory Affairs at Shaw Communications, where he is primarily responsible for CRTC proceedings and compliance under the Broadcasting Act. He also provides advice on matters involving the Telecommunications Act, Competition Act and Copyright Act. Prior to joining Shaw in 2006, Dean was Regulatory Counsel at the Canadian Cable Telecommunications Association. Previously, he worked at the Competition Bureau in the Mergers Branch. Dean is a graduate of Queen’s University (Bachelor of Laws) and the University of Ottawa (Bachelor of Social Sciences – Political Science and Master of Laws).

Other Participating Service Providers

Photo of Geoff Batstone

Geoff Batstone

Geoff is the Vice President, General Counsel at Distributel Communications where he is responsible for managing the legal, regulatory and public policy affairs of the Distributel group of companies. Called to the bar in 1995, he has over twenty years of experience working in diverse legal environments, advising a range of clients from small start-ups to multinational companies. He brings a creative approach to problem solving as well as a pragmatic but commercially sound approach to legal issues. Prior to joining Distributel in 2016, Geoff ran his own practice after spending 12 years as in-house counsel to Cable & Wireless Communications in both the Caribbean and London, England. Prior to that he served as Legal Counsel to the CRTC. He is a graduate of Queen’s University (Bachelor of Arts) and the University of New Brunswick (Bachelor of Laws).